Last game

Muckalee and Railyard played the last game of their group at the Community School in Castlecomer . Both sides were guilty of numerous misses during the first half which ended 1-5 to 0-2 Railyard ahead. The points were for John Maher and Tom Breen. A second goal for Railyard put them in control but in fairness to Muckalee they were not finished. Points for John Maher Brian Cody and a Tom Breen goal left one score in it with time running out but it was Railyard who pushed on with two points. Darragh Quinlan and Ciaran Fitzpatrick acquitted themselves well on their first starts in Senior Football. Final score 2-8 to 1-6.

Team Paul Maher, Shane Kinsella, Noel Darcy, Ciaran Fitzpatrich, Darragh Quinlan, Patrich Nolan, Sean Maher, Brian Coady 0-2, Tom Breen 1-1,Tommy Quirke, John Mulhall, Robert Shore, Eugene Maher, Bryan Byrne, John Maher 0-3, Conor Mulhall

Selectors Tom Cullen, Paul Maher, Eoin McGrath.

Ref. Peter Burke



First loss

In cold and stormy MW Hire Dunmore centre Graigue/Ballycallan proved too strong for the Junior Footballers from Muckalee. Under lights gale assisted Muckalee made a resonable start leading 1-4 to nil after twenty minutes but Graigue/Ballycallan were level at the break ssoring 2-1. Muckalee’s goal was scored by Robert Shore finishing to the net after a good team attack.The second half was mostly dominated by the the Ballycallan lads with Muckalee defending strongly,final score 3-7 to 2-6.

Team John Coonan, Sean Maher,Alan Murphy, Richard O Shea, Darragh Quinlan, David Walsh, Shane Kinsella, Colm Kealy, Harry Kealy, Luke Maher, Paul Maher, Daniel Comerford, Robert Shore 1-4John Maher 0-2, Eugene Maher, Dean Farrell,Danny Quirke, Tommy Quirke, Conor Mulhall,Ciaran Fitzpatrick,James Carrigan, Mark Coady (subs used did well)

Selectors Seamus Tynan, John Ryan,Tom Dooley,Anthony Maher.

Ref.Ger Grady


away win

Muckalee Junior footballers travelled to Urlingford to take on Emeralds in the League and despite the freezing conditions both sides served up a good contest. Early points from Shane Kinsella John Joe Kelly, John Maher and two from Robert Shore had the visitors ahead after 15 minutes . From there to the break it was Emeralds who dominated to level the score 0-5 each. Wind assisted Urlingford started well in the second then Harry Kealy goaled in the 35  minute to regain the lead. When Daniel Comerford finished to the net in 50th minute to stretch the lead to five points it looked a good lead but Emeralds scored a goal to reduce the lead to two points with minutes remaining. A point from Eugene Maher restored the three point margin , Robert Shore  and John Maher added to what the scored in the first half. Final score 2-11 to 1-11

Team Paul Maher,Ciaran Fitzpatrick Capt, Alan Murphy, Richard O Shea, Darragh Quinlan, David Walsh, Shane Kinsella0-1, Colm Kealy, Harry Kealy 1-0,Luke Maher, Tom Morrissey, John Joe Kelly 0-1, Robert Shore 0-3, John Maher 0-5, Eugene Maher 0-1.

subs Daniel Comerford 1-0, DeanFarrell, Danny Quirke, Conor Mulhall, James  Carrigan, all played

    selectors John Ryan, Tom Dooley, Seamus Tynan, Anthony Maher.

Ref. John Guinan


First outing

Muckalee had their first outing of the Senior Football League with an away game v James Stephens at the Kells road venue. It was the visitors who made the brighter start with points 4 points from Bryan Byrne but James Stephens finished the stronger to lead at the break 0-5 to 0-4. On the resumption Bryan Byrne levelled matters but the next two scores went to Stephens, Muckalee responded with points from Byrne,John Mulhall and John Maher to put themselves in a winning position but in an exciting finish a 21 metre free in the last play of the game levelled the game 0-8 each. This was an exact replica of the scoring pattern of the Junior game last night. Team Stephen Murphy, Noel Darcy, Oliver Walsh, David Walsh, Brian Cody, Patrick Nolan, Jason Shore, Thomas Breen,Mick Morrissey, John Mulhall, Tom Morrissey, Sean Maher, Eugene Maher  Bryan Byrne 0-6,3f. Shane Kinsella.

Subs Luke Maher (used), Darragh Quinlan(used), John Maher 0-1,John Joe Kelly, Ciaran Fitzpatrick, Conor Mulhall.

Selectors Tom Cullen Eoin McGrath, Paul Maher


Ref. Sean McMahon



First into action

Muckalee Junior footballers were the first team from the Parish into action for 2019. Railyard were the opposition in Muckalee under lighs. A blend of youth and experience was evident in  both sides and after a well contested game the spoils were shared 0-8 each. The half time score was 5 points to 4 in favour of Railyard with John Maher and Harry Kealy on the  score sheet for Muckalee. In the second half Sean Maher, John Joe Kelly and John Maher added further scores. Final score Muckalee 0-8 Railyard 0-8, next game on February 3  v Emeralds in Urlingford.

Team John Coonan, Ciaran Fitzpatrich, Alan Murphy, Richard O Shea, Daragh Quinlan, David Walsh, Shane Kinsella, Sean Maher 0-1 Capt. Harry Kealy 0-1, Eugene Maher, Paul Maher, James Carrigan, Conor Mulhall, John Maher 0-5 3f, Danny Quirke. Sub.John Joe Kelly 0-1.

Selectors Seamus Tynan, Tom Dooley, John Ryan, Anthony Maher


Ref.John McCormack

25/1 2019

Inter-County Bounty Leaderboard Winner

After another epic clash Galway emerged as Leinster champions with a massive statement of intent towards regaining the All Ireland they won last year. Conor Whelans 2-12 from play was enough to give him the top scorer from play in Leinster trailed by four other Galway men scoring their scoring strength. It also saw the emergence of the first three positions in the 2018 Inter County Bounty. In first place with a magnificent total of 190 is  Thomas Hiney of Abbeyleix and his prize a total of €1000. Second place (185) saw long time leader Nicky Siney of Ballinakill collect €400. While third place saw John Cahill (180) take home the prize of two All Ireland tickets and accommodation in Dublin for either the Hurling or Football All Irelands.  Huge congratulations to the winners and a massive thank you to all those who collected cards earlier in the year and to all those who took part it is much appreciated.

Top Scorers (Leinster)

Conor Whelan (GAL) 2.12
Joseph Cooney (GAL) 1.11
Conor Cooney (GAL) 0.14
Cathal Mannion (GAL) 0.13
Joe Canning (GAL) 0.12

Top Scorers (Munster)

Seamus Harnedy (CO) 3.14
John Conlon (CL) 1.19
Tony Kelly (CL) 1.15
Patrick Horgan (CO) 1.15
Tommy Ryan (WAT) 3.05

Excel InterCountyBounty 2018 St Martins

Inter-County Bounty Leaderboard Week 7

The wait for the first winner of  the ICB will go on for another week after Kilkenny and Galway drew in an absorbing final in Leinster. Cork took the spoils in Munster with Seamus Harnedy pipping John Conlon to the top scorers prize with 3.14 (23) scored.

Excel InterCountyBounty 2018 St Martins

Guard of Honour Fr. Martin Ryan

A guard of honour will take place for Fr. Martin Ryan from the school at 8.30 on Tuesday evening. All clubs from parish are invited to attend and are asked to wear colours.

Inter-County Bounty Leaderboard Week 6

All change at the top of the leaderboard with Clare and Cork winning through to the Munster final. This leaves just one remaining weekend for both the Leinster and Munster finals to decide on the winners of the first Inter-County Bounty. Tony Kelly and John Conlon are still inseperable in the scoring stakes. This means that going into the final weekend participant will have to have picked a winner in Munster and Leinster and a top scorer in both provinces to their is still plenty of points to play for.

Excel InterCountyBounty 2018 St Martins

Fr Martin Ryan RIP

Sad news as the passing has occurred of Fr. Martin Ryan after whom our great club is named. May he rest in peace. Details of funeral arrangements to follow.

Next Page »