U. 21 B Championship Quarter Final

St. Martin’s U.21’s took on a fit and physical Emeralds side in Freshford today in the championship quarter final.  Playing on a sticky pitch, the going was tough.  Shane Kinsella got Martin’s first score on the board after he converted a free when Luke Maher was fouled.  The Urlingford side kicked into action with scores from Connor Martin (x2), Davy O’Gorman and Mick Fitzgerald for them them to go 0-4 to 0-1 up after eight minutes.  Coming up to mid way through the half, Shane Kinsella and Brian Troy exchanged points for their sides.  Jason Shore converted a long range free with David Walsh also pointing to close the gap on their opponents. (0-5 to 0-4)  Jason Shore did very well to save a a penalty struck well by Connor Martin heading towards half time.  The aforementioned, along with his colleague Jamie Ryan, extended Emerald’s side to leave three between the sides at half time.  (0-7 to 0-4)  St. Martin’s started off the second half as they did the first half, getting the first score of the half when Jason Shore pointed a free.  Shane Kinsella converted two more free’s in an attempt to close the gap.  However, Emeralds were the better team on the day with Connor Martin scoring his sides goal early on in the third quarter.  They drove on and earned themselves a nice lead which could not be closed.  Once again, Shane Kinsella closed the game with a fine point from play to leave the full time score Emeralds 1-14 to St. Martin’s 0-8.

Team: Jason Shore (0-2), Paddy Heffernan, Thomas Walsh, Shane Egan, David Walsh (0-1), Paddy Brennan, Robert Reid, Shane Kinsella (0-5), Jack Dowling, Luke Maher, Ruairí Kinsella, Mark Coady, Donal Shore, David Breen, Adrian Farrell.

Subs: Shane Walsh, James Callanan, Colm O’Neill, Shane Dowling, Alan Lawlor (all used), Loughlin Hogan, Ronan Tynan, John Joe Kelly, Jason Allen, Aidan Egan, William Trousdell, Eoin Murphy.

Team Management: Seamus Tynan, Conor Kinsella, Paul Maher, Joe Maher, Ollie Walsh

Referee: John Guinan

15th November 2014



Spirited second half not enough.

St. Martin’s under 21’s made the short journey to Jenkinstown, to take on Tullaroan in the Quarter Final of the North U.21 B Hurling Championship.  On a cold day, with a young team which included 10 minors,  Martin’s went ahead with scores from Ruairí Kinsella and Shane Kinsella after 10 minutes.(0-4 to 0-3).  However, after that, Martin’s found it hard to come by scores as Tullaroan raced into a 12 points to 6 lead at half time.  The deficit could have been more as Jason Shore made a great save mid way through the first half when Bill Cuddihy tried for goal.  The second half saw a more determined St. Martin’s side come out fighting.  However, the men in red and green received a setback when Dave Dooley suffered a head injury and had to be taken off.  Shane Kinsella (3), Donal Shore and David Breen whittled the deficit down to three points before Tullaroan hit the jackpot with a pointed free and a goal.  Bryan Byrne closed the scoring account with a point before the full time whistle signalled the end for Tullaroan to win on a scoreline of 1-16 to 0-12.

St. Martin’s: J. Shore, S. Egan, T. Walsh, R. Teehan, J. Dowling, B. Byrne (0-1), P. Brennan, L. Maher, S. Kinsella (0-8), A. Farrell, D. Breen (0-1), C. Dowling, D. Shore (0-1), R. Kinsella (0-1), D. Dooley.

Subs: D. Walsh (used), T. Walsh, R. Tynan, D. Egan(used), A. Egan, M. Dowling, A. Kelly.

Team Management: Seamus Tynan, Richard Nolan, Conor Kinsella, Martin Dowling.

Referee: Paddy Bowden.

09th November 2013.

Martin’s shade u.21 battle

In a wet Jenkinstown, St. Martin’s and Danesfort squared up to each in the preliminary round of the North U.21 Roinn B Hurling Championship.  Luckily enough, the rain had eased off before the whistle started proceedings.  Within half a minute, the first score was on the board when Luke Maher won the throw in and passed to David Breen.  Before he could be tackled, Breen swiftly delivered the ball to Donal Shore to get Martin’s first point.  Danesfort took their time to settle but once they did, they powered ahead with scores from a Ger Dunne free and a good point from Paddy Hickey.  St. Martin’s had to battle hard for their next score which came by way of a Shane Kinsella free to put the sides’ level.   With Paddy Hickey leading the Danesfort charge, they shot four unanswered points from the sticks of Colm Phelan, Cillian Treacy (2) and a pointed free from their instrumental Ger Dunne to go four points up (0-6 to 0-2).  The momentum was very much with Danesfort.  However, in the 22nd minute, when Dave Dooley was fouled in the square, net minder Jason Shore was called upon to take the resultant penalty for St. Martin’s.   He smashed it home past Patrick Tynan and his defenders to put one between the sides.  Less than a minute later, Conor Dowling and Gary Tynan traded points.  Jack Bruton finished the first half scoring with a point for Danesfort to leave the half time score Danesfort 0-8, St. Martin’s 1-3.

It took until the 6th minute of the second half for the next score when Ger Dunne shot a lovely point for his side to put four between them.  However, Martin’s Shane Kinsella pointed from a free near the sideline to narrow the gap again.  While Danesfort went through somewhat of a dry spell, St. Martin’s upped their game to claw back the deficit with further scores from Shane Kinsella to bring the sides level once again.  With each side really putting their hearts into the game, it was clear this was going to be a close finish.  Gary Tynan hit back with a point for his side to go up by one as David Breen negated that score when he was set up by Shane Kinsella.  While both sides fought doggedly, Luke Maher and Colm Phelan traded points as they remained level.  There was no separating the sides as Dave Dooley shot over a fine point and Ger Dunne pointed a free.  It seemed like Danesfort might take the spoils when Ger Dunne went in for goal but his shot went wide.  It was a frantic race to the end as both sides struggled to gain the upper hand but it was Luke Maher who shot the winning point for St. Martin’s in 60th minute.  Danesfort will be disappointed with themselves as they missed a few chances that could have won the game as St. Martin’s won on a scoreline of 1-10 to 0-12.

Scorers: St. Martin’s:  S. Kinsella (0-4, 3f), Luke Maher (0-2), D. Shore (0-1), J. Shore (1-0), C. Dowling (0-1), D. Breen (0-1), D. Dooley (0-1)

Danesfort: G. Dunne (0-4, 3f), G. Tynan (0-2), C. Treacy (0-2), C. Phelan (0-2), P. Hickey (0-1), J. Bruton (0-1)

Teams: St. Martin’s: J. Shore, S. Egan, T. Walsh, R. Kinsella, J. Dowling, B. Byrne, P. Brennan, L. Maher, S. Kinsella, A. Farrell, D. Breen, C. Dowling, D. Shore, D. Dooley, J. Callinan.  Subs: R. Teehan (used), D. Walsh (used), A. Egan, D. Egan, A. Kelly, E. Mahony, R. Tynan

Danesfort: P. Tynan, J. Tynan, C. O’Neill, D. Knox, R. Leahy, D. Sheehan, B. O’Connor, P. Hickey, G. Tynan, C. Phelan, C. Mullally, G. Dunne, J. Bruton, C. Treacy, S. McKenna.  Subs: B. Cullen (used), H. Bruton (used), D. Fitzpatrick (used).

Team Management: Seamus Tynan, Richard Nolan, Martin Dowling, Conor Kinsella.

Referee: Eugene Ryan

26th October 2013