St Martin’s Hurling Club AGM

St. Martins AGM took place in Muckalee Community Centre on February 8th. Chairman Richard O’ Shea in his address welcomed everyone to the meeting and said it was heartening to see such a large attendance. He gave a brief account of the year’s activities and thanked all the clubs sponsors for their continued support.  He congratulated Thomas Breen on winning his first All-Ireland Senior medal with Kilkenny.  Richard thanked outgoing treasurer Eamon Breen, who, due to other commitments was stepping down.  He expressed gratitude for all Eamon’s work over a long number of years and for the dedication and help he gave the club as Treasurer. He also commended the great work been done by the Bord na N-Óg section of the club. He congratulated Muckalee Football club on completing their first Senior three in a row.  He thanked his fellow officers and the committee for their hard work during the year.  Secretary Lillian Holohan gave a detailed account of all club activities throughout the year.  She extended the sympathy of the club to all members who suffered bereavements during the year.  She wished our new Senior Manager Charlie Carter and everyone involved in the club good fortunes for the year ahead while thanking Sean O’Neill and his management team for their hard work for the past two years.  Treasurer Eamon Breen gave a detailed account of the club’s finances. He said that the Members Draw was our main source of income and he thanked everyone who collects money and all members who continue to support the club each year. He also thanked anyone who helped with fundraising events during the year.  Eamon thanked O’Shea Plant-hire and J.S Bolger for their continued sponsorship throughout the year.  Guest speakers at the meeting included Fr. Martin Ryan, Lar Maher and Patrick O’Flynn.  Officers elected were:

Presidents:                  Fr. Martin Ryan, Fr. Larry Wallace, Fr. John Delaney, Pakie Lawlor, Phil Purcell, Tom Dowling

Chairman:                   Richard O’Shea,

Vice Chairman:          John Ryan,

Secretary:                    Breda Tynan,

Assistant Secretary:  Donncha Quinlan,

Treasurer:                    Dermot Lawlor,

Assistant Treasurer:  Eamon Breen,

PRO:                            Annmarie Nolan,

County Board Rep:   Richard Nolan,

Northern Board Rep: Liam Dowling

Senior Selectors:       Charlie Carter (Manager) Aidan Lawlor, Richie McCarthy

Junior Selectors:        Aidan Lawlor, Nicky Purcell, Tony Maher

Junior A Selectors:    John Ryan, Seamus Tynan, John Buggy

U.21 Selectors:           Seamus Tynan, Martin Dowling, Richard Nolan, Conor Kinsella.