St. Martins AGM


The AGM took place in Coon Hall on January 22nd.  A good crowd attended the meeting.  At the start of the meeting the Club Constitution was adopted for the coming year.

Secretary Lillian Holohan then read the minutes of the previous meeting.  The chairman Richard O Shea then addressed the meeting.  He thanked everyone for coming.  He also thanked his fellow officers, sub committees and board no N OG for all their hard work during the year.  He thanked those who helped organise the Dog Night, sell Piltown tickets, and collected membership and also the mentors of each team for their continued hard work. To the people who look after our fields and keep them in good conditions a big thank you.  Also to Grace and Noel for looking after our teams.

He then said that on the hurling field we started the year with a good win over Club champions Ballyhale Shamrocks but we did not capitalise on this. He hoped that with more commitment and hard work this year we can go all the way.  He thanked Nicky Cashin and the selectors for their hard work last year and wished them the best in the future.  He welcomed new trainer Sean O Neill and his selectors Johnny Brennan, John Mc Grath, Brendan Morrissey and Nial Maloney on board for the coming year.  He asked everyone to support them and the team.  Before he finished he congratulated Muckalee Football team on them winning the county Final. The secretary then gave her report and thanked everyone who helped her during the year.

Treasure Eamon Breen gave a comprehensive report of the years expenses. He said that after the development work was completed in Coon and all expenses paid we were still clear of death. He said the members draw was our main fundraiser and encouraged everyone to help collect money. 

County Board Chairman Paul Kinsella addressed the meeting and complemented the club on the meeting booklet and layout.  He reminded us that everyone involved in the club needs to be garda vetted.  He stated that the GAA would be having a national Garda Vetting Day at the end of the month.

The meeting was also addressed by Football Chairman Larry Maher, Bord Na N Og vice Chairman Tom Cullen and Fr Larry Wallace and Fr John Delaney who all wished the club well for the coming year.  Sean O Neill thanked everyone for their good wishes and hoped that the year ahead would be a good one.

The Following officers were elected:

Chairman: Richard O Shea

Vice-Chairman: John Ryan

Secretary: Lillian Holohan

Assist sec: Breda Tynan

Treasurer: Eamon Breen

Assist Treasurer: Dermot Lawlor

P.R.O.: Breda Tynan

County Board rep: Richard Nolan

Northern Board rep: Liam Dowling