St. Canice’s Credit Union Senior Hurling League Rd.1

St. Martin’s opened their league campaign against O’Loughlin Gaels in a splendid Canon Kearns Park this afternoon.  John Maher started proceedings for St. Martin’s with a pointed free in the second minute.  Then, O’Loughlin Gaels kicked into action with points from Mark Bergin and Sammy Johnston.   Eoin McGrath slotted a lovely pass from Canice Maher over the bar before setting Thomas Breen up for a point of his own.  Mark Bergin pointed a free awarded to his side to draw the sides level for the only time in the game.  Once again, Eoin McGrath stepped up to the mark to put Martin’s ahead when he fielded a pass from the towering Brian Mulhall. (0-4 to O’Loughlin’s 0-3)  Alas, that was to be St. Martin’s final score for the half as the city side pulled away with a further 1-3 before the whistle sounded for half time.  (HT: O’Loughlin Gaels 1-6 St. Martin’s 0-4).  In the second half, things did not improve for the country side.  With the O’Loughlin Gaels side upping their work rate and finding the posts better than their opponents,  John Maher tried keeping his side in touch scoring 3 points from free’s and a 65.  Meanwhile, O’Loughlin’s were tipping away extending their lead, particularly with a goal from John Doyle.  (O’Loughlin’s 2-10, St. Martin’s 0-8)  John Mulhall added two points while Eoin McGrath fielded a pass from James Maher to further add to his tally.  David Breen goaled to leave 5 points the difference at full time as O’Loughlin Gaels claim their first two points of the league while St. Martin’s must look deeper to get their league back to winning ways.  Full time score: O’Loughlin Gaels 2-13, St. Martin’s 1-11.

Team: Colin McGrath, Shane Cadigan , Ollie Walsh, Patrick Dowling, Brian Byrne, Patrick Nolan, James Dowling, Thomas Breen (0-1), Michael Morrissey, Eoin McGrath (0-3), John Mulhall (0-2), Brian Mulhall, Canice Maher, John Maher (0-5), Shane Kinsella.

Subs: Jason Shore, James Maher (used), David Breen (used, 1-0), Aidan Murphy, Noel D’arcy, Patrick Brennan, Donal Shore, Brian Cadogan, Adrian Farrell, Luke Maher, Jack Dowling Shane Egan, Eugene Maher, Thomas Walsh.

Selectors: Charlie Carter, Richard O’Shea, Aidan Lawlor, Ronan Ruane

Referee: Gavin Quilty

13th April 2014.