Match reports. News reports.


Muckalee’s hopes of bridging a 34 year gap since they last won the junior championship came unstuck at Nowlan Park on 20/5/07 when they were defeated by Graiguenamanagh by 2–11 to 1–6. The final scoreline did not reflect the true story of the game as it was only in the last ten minutes that Graiguenamanagh pulled away. Graiguenamanagh started well and had two points registered before Pauric Keegan pointed. John Dooley, back from retirement, kicked over two points to put Muckalee ahead by 0–3 to 0–2. However Graiguenamanagh got in for a goal midway through the half and added on three more points before Pauric Keegan scored Muckalee’s last point of the half to leave the score 1–5 to 0–4.

A couple of early points from Graiguenamanagh stretched their lead further and things looked bad. Another surging run from John Dooley resulted with a scorching shot barely going over the bar instead of under it. Muckalee fought for every ball and were really on a roll when Robert Shore shot to the Graiguenamanagh net to leave just two between t he sides. Graiguenamanagh kicked over another point
to go three clear. Moments later Paul Brennan appeared to be hauled down in the square but appeals for a penalty fell on deaf ears. With ten minutes left the ball was eventually finished to the Geaiguenamanagh net but the referee again ruled in favour of Graiguenamanagh men and gave a free out. Graiguenamanagh hit back with a goal to which Pauric Keegan replied with a pointed free. In the dying minutes Graiguenamanagh scored a couple of more points to run out winners but they certainly knew they were in a game by the end.

The loss of eight players to the senior team, plus a few injuries that kept other players out of the team certainly took its toll but the players can be proud of the way they fought against the odds.

Team: John Coonan, Nicky Purcell, Dermot Comerford, Patrick Nolan, Niall Moran, Niall Moloney, Shane Comerford, Don Callanan, Michael Mulhall, Richard Nolan, Robert Shore, Pauric Keegan, John Dooley, Eoin Maher.
Subs: Brian Cadogan, Paul Brennan, David Shore (all used), Darren Holohan, Caleb Daly Michael Nolan


Muckalee’s U-21 footballers won the 2007 Roinn ‘A’ title for the third time on Sat 26th Jan 2008 when they beat Railyard by 2–12 to 1–7 at Freshford. Railyard began brightly and dominated proceedings for the first ten minutes. They led by 0–2 to 0–1 and were looking good. Then a good movement  which began in the Muckalee half back line ended with Aidan Murphy finishing to the net from the edge of the square. He added a point from a free soon after and Muckalee began to find their feet. John Mulhall, Joe Maher, and Colin McGrath put Muckalee into a 1–7 to 0–4 at the interval. Railyard fought back for a while early in the second half but Colin McGrath punished them severely and ended up with 0–9 to his credit with only 0–2 of that total coming from free’s. Railyard did convert a penalty with about ten minutes remaining but it was too little too late. Indeed Paddy Nolan cancelled out that score shortly later when he found the net from about 30 yards out. So, it has been a great year for the parish’s U-21 players, who had already captured the Roinn ‘A’ hurling title for the year.

Team: Mark Murphy, John Maher, Mick Keane, Ollie Walsh, Fionn Lawlor, Paddy Nolan, James Dowling, Ronan Maher, Joe Maher, Noel Darcy, Mick Morrissey, John Mulhall, Colin McGrath, Aidan Murphy, Thomas Breen

Subs: James Maher, Brian Mulhall, Michael Nolan, Eoin Bolger


Results of senior football league 2008

Muckalee 2–11, Glenmore 2006

Muckalee 1–7, Railyard 2–4

Erin’s Own 3–9, Muckalee 0–11


Muckalee senior footballers have exited the 2008 championship at the first hurdle for the third year in a row when they were beaten by the narrowest of margins at Moneenroe on Tuesday night last 29th April. The final score was James Stephens 1–10 , Muckalee 1–9.

Our junior team are in action on Saturday evening when they take on St.Patricks, Ballyragget in a play off to see which team makes the quarter finals and which team goes out of the championship.


The annual St. Martins Hurling Club/Muckalee Football Club dinner dance which was held on 23rd Feb 2008 was a great sucess. Around 300 people enjoyed a wonderful night of dining, wining and dancing until the early hours. A wonderful display of old photographs and newspaper match reports spanning the last twenty five years of the hurling club and older ones still of the football club decorated the walls of the Newpark hotel. This really entertained most of the crowd present who hardly found time to dance!

There were also four televisions strategically positioned around the room showing county final games and the 1985 All Ireland Club Final. Action photographs from other games were also shown. Local man, Paul Kinsella, now Chairman of Kilkenny County Board presented medals to Muckalee senior footballers (2007 football league), U-21’A’ (football and hurling county championship) and special junior ‘A’ (county championship).


The annual general meeting of Muckalee Football Club for 2007 took place in Muckalee Community Centre on January 19th 2008 at 8pm. Agood crowd attended.

Officers elected were:

Presidents: FR. Wallace, Fr. Delaney, Fr. Martin Ryan, Packie Lawlor.

Chairman: Lar Maher

Vice-Chairman: Nicky Morrissey;

Secretary: Paddy Morrissey

Assistant Secretary and P.R.O.: Patrick O’Flynn

Treasurer: Patsy Murphy


Playing Pitch

Muckalee Football Club purchased their own playing pitch in 1986 from the Hunt family of Gaulstown. They had been playing in the same field for decades courtesy of the Hunts and when the opportunity arose to purchase the field they took it. Over the next few years it was developed by levelling it,. sowing evergreen trees around its perimeter and building dressing rooms and dugouts. It is hoped to further develop it over the next few years with additional draining and perhaps floodlighting.


Well done to the Muckalee players who were on the Kilkenny senior football panel that beat London in Nowlan Park on Sunday 13th May 2008. There were five players on the first fifteen and two more on the panel. Those who were playing were John Coonan, Mick Morrissey, Alan Murphy, Paul Maher and John Maher. On the bench were Martin Dowling and Robert Shore. There was no other club with as many representatives on Sundays team. Also well done to Eoin Maher who was a selector. The final score was : Kilkenny 2–13, London 0–15