Martin’s secure Quarter Final place

St. Martin’s progressed to the Quarter Final of the St. Canice’s Credit Union Hurling Championship as they overcame Danesfort this afternoon in Jenkinstown.  St. Martin’s went ahead with points from Canice Maher, Eoin McGrath and James Dowling with John Maher been accurate on frees as they went 0-8 to 0-3 ahead.  However, just before half time, Danesfort rallied with points from Richie Hogan and Cathal O’Neill as they whittled the deficit down to a single point to leave the half time score St. Martin’s 0-9 Danesfort 0-8.  St. Martin’s came out in the second half with a sense of urgency and determination.  Within the first minute of the restart, a long range free from Colin McGrath, taken from his own half, landed in the square.  The alert Robert Shore got a flick on it and ensured it sailed to the back of the net.  A minute after that welcome boost, Colin McGrath put 4 points between the sides when he landed another huge free from his own half.  From there, the Northerners kept on the pressure and further scores from John Mulhall, Thomas Breen, John Maher and Robert Shore maintained their lead.  All the while, the strong wall of defence with Ollie Walsh, Niall Moran and Shane Cadigan, guarded by the half back line of Bryan Byrne, Paddy Nolan and James Maher ensured that Danesfort didn’t breach enemy lines as both Richie Hogan and Oisín Daly tried for goals.  The towering Brian Mulhall was instrumental in creating goal chances but could not shake off the Danesfort defenders to advance on goal.  St. Martin’s ran out convincing winners on a scoreline of 1-18 to Danesfort 0-12.  With this needed boost of confidence, St. Martin’s now march on to the Quarter finals of the Championship.

Scorers: John Maher 0-8, Robert Shore 1-1, Canice Maher 0-2, Eoin McGrath 0-2, John Mulhall 0-2, Thomas Breen 0-1, James Dowling 0-1, Colin McGrath 0-1.

Team: Colin McGrath, Niall Moran, Ollie Walsh, Shane Cadigan, Bryan Byrne, Paddy Nolan, James Maher, Canice Maher, James Dowling, Thomas Breen, Brian Mulhall, John Mulhall, Eoin McGrath, John Maher, Robert Shore.

Subs: Jason Shore, Paul Maher, Michael Morrissey, Brendan Maher, Noel D’arcy, Aidan Murphy, Brian Cadigan, Paddy Dowling, David Breen, Shane Kinsella, Luke Maher, Donal Shore, Thomas Walsh, Eugene Maher, Jack Dowling, Joe Maher (inj) Ronan Maher (inj)

Team Management: Charlie Carter, Aidan Lawlor, Richie McCarthy.

Referee: Eugene Ryan

14th September 2013