Junior Hurling League Rd. 3 vs. Tullaroan

On a damp afternoon in Coon, St. Martin’s Junior’s took on Tullaroan in the J.J Kavanagh & Son’s Junior Hurling League third round.  After the Senior’s been defeated the night before, St. Martin’s had a big task ahead of them to pick themselves up to collect  their first two points of this league.  From the throw in, St. martin’s got their first score when Luke Maher split the posts.  In the seventh and ninth minutes, Shane Kinsella, been on form, added a further two points (one from play and a pointed free when James Callinan was fouled) to his sides tally.  It was only in the 12th minute when Tullaroan’s Eddie Teehan shot one over to open his sides account.  However, that was quickly cancelled out when Shane Kinsella, once again, converted a free to leave three between the sides. (St.Martins 0-4, Tullaroan 0-1).  Tullaroan then tried to up the ante scoring 1-1 in the next 10 minutes to take the lead for the first and last time.  Points from Adrian Farrell and Shane Kinsella quickly regained the upper hand for St. Martin’s while Brendan Cahill ended the first half with a point for Tullaroan to leave the half time score St. Martin’s 0-7, Tullaroan 1-3.  The second half started off with both sides sensing the urgency to gain the upper hand.  Jason Shore made a great save within two minutes of the restart.  Shane Walsh duly put it the resultant 65 over the bar to level the game.  A high dropping ball from Eugene Maher was swiftly finished to the back of the net by Conor Kinsella.  Shane Walsh tapped a free over for the Green and White to leave two points between the sides.  Both sides traded points with Luke Maher and Shane Kinsella been on target for St. Martin’s while Sam Grace, Eddie Teehan, Shane Walsh and Jack Keoghan supplied Tullaroan’s points.  However, even though it was a tight affair, St. Martin’s ran out winners on a scoreline of 1-12 to 1-10.  Showing great heart and determination to secure the win, they picked up their well deserved first points of this league.

Team: Jason Shore, Brian Cadigan, Aidan Murphy,Shane Egan, Damien Tynan, Noel D’arcy, James Callanan,  Luke Maher (0-3), Adrian Farrell (0-1), Shane Kinsella (0-8), Shane Coonan, Eugene Maher, John Haughney, Conor Kinsella (1-0), Tommy Quirke.

Sub: Robert Reid (used)

Team Selector: Anthony Maher

Referee: John Guinan

18th May 2014