Tom Kinsella Memorial Tournament Final

St. Martin’s took on Rathdowney/Erril in the annual Tom Kinsella Memorial Tournament this evening in Coon.  Just as the game was about begin,  the good weather of the day broke and the rain came down.  The sides were pretty level in the first half matching each other point for point.  However, just before half time, Rathdowney/Erril got a goal to go in a point up at half time. (Rathdowney/Erril 1-8, St. Martin’s 0-10.)  In the second half,  the visitor’s powered on as the homeside seemed to wilt under their opponents pressure.  The only consolation for the Martin’s side was a well taken goal by Adrian Farrell to take the reduce the deficit just seconds before the final whistle.  Rathdowney/Erril went home deserving winners with the Tom Kinsella Cup on a scoreline of 1-21 to St. Martin’s 1-16.

Team: Colin McGrath, Bryan Byrne, Ollie Walsh, Jack Dowling, Brian Mulhall, Paddy Nolan, James Dowling, Canice Maher, Thomas Breen (0-4), John Mulhall (0-1), Eoin McGrath (0-3), Luke Maher (0-2), Shane Kinsella (0-1), John Maher (0-5), Robert Shore.

Subs: James Maher (used), Paul Maher (used), Mick Morrissey (used), Adrian Farrell (used)(1-0), Aidan Murphy, Jason Shore, Shane Egan, Eugene Maher, Shane Cadigan, Brian Cadigan, Donal Shore, Noel D’arcy, Paddy Brennan

Team Management: Charlie Carter, Richard O’Shea, Aidan Lawlor

Rathdowney/Erril: Andrew Kavanagh, Paddy Bergin, Jimmy Corrigan, Alan Delaney, Joe Fitz, Paddy Menton, Patrick Purcell, Liam O’Connell, Shane Dollard, Tadgh Dowling, Darren King, John Purcell, Mark Kavanagh, Ross King, James Ryan.

Subs used: Damien Bowe, Eoin Burke, Jack Kelly.

Referee: Gay Rafter

31st August 2014


Captain of Rathdowney/Errill receiving the Tom Kinsella Cup off Tom Kinsella, with Chairman John Ryan

Rathdowney/Errill winner of Tom Kinsella Cup 2014