St. Canice’s Senior Hurling County Semi Final

In front of a large crowd in Nowlan Park, St. Martin’s took on renowned Ballyhale Shamrocks in the County Senior Hurling Semi-Final.  The task ahead of them was a great one but not one that they would shy away from.  Lining out without the injured Mick Morrissey, Martin’s got off to a great start going six points to two up courtesy of some fine points from John Maher, Thomas Breen and Joe Maher.  John Maher converted a free in the 20th minute which was to be St. Martin’s final score of the half.  After that, they had to get to grips with the Ballyhale attack as the two Reids, Eoin and T.J (scoring two free’s) and Henry Shefflin brought the sides back level before Cha Fitzpatrick scored two successive points to take the lead going in at half time.  (Ballyhale Shamrocks 0-8, St. Martin’s 0-6).  John Mulhall got Martin’s deficit down to one upon the resumption but then T.J Reid converted a further two frees to put three between the sides.  John Maher exchanged points with Shefflin, T.J Reid and Colin Fennelly when he scored a 21m free and tapped over two from play.  (three points difference)  However, Martin’s were reduced to 14 men and straight away Shamrocks took advantage when Mark Aylward came on for Ballyhale and immediately made an impact.  Henry Shefflin prevented the ball from going out for a sideline and found T.J Reid who in turn laid the ball off to Aylward who finished to the net to put six between the sides.  With the Saints been a man down, they had to work hard.  With further points from Eoin Reid, Cha Fitz, David Hoyne, Conor Walsh and Mark Aylward, Ballyhale extended their lead.  John Maher, Eoin McGrath and Joe Maher each pointed but the last score of the game belonged to Henry Shefflin as he pointed in the dying seconds of injury time for Ballyhale to run out winners on a scoreline of 1-19 to St. Martin’s 0-14.

Team: Colin McGrath, James Maher, Ollie Walsh, Shane Cadigan, Tom Breen (0-1), Paddy Nolan, Bryan Byrne, James Dowling, Canice Maher, Brian Mulhall (0-1), Eoin McGrath (0-1), Joe Maher (0-2), John Mulhall (0-1), John Maher (0-8), Paul Maher.

Subs: Jason Shore, Mick Morrissey, Robert Shore, Shane Kinsella (used), Paddy Dowlig, Luke Maher, Paddy Brennan, Brian Cadigan, Thomas Walsh, Adrian Farrell, Eugene Maher, Jack Dowling, Donal Shore, Shane Egan.

Management: Charlie Carter, Richard O’Shea, Ronan Ruane, Aidan Lawlor

Referee: Raymond Byrne (Glenmore)

2nd November 2014.

Senior Team 2014

St. Martin’s Senior Hurling Team 2014