Senior County Hurling Championship Rd. 1

On a lovely day in Páirc Lachtain in Freshford with the sunshine blazing as if it were summer, St. Martin’s took on Fenian’s of Johnstown to gain a place in the Quarter final of the Senior Hurling Championship.  Conor Tobin got Fenian’s on the score board with a point.  Tom Breen got Martin’s off the mark and Shane Kinsella got the lead point when Eoin McGrath delivered a good pass to him in the fourth minute.  John Broderick and James Dowling exchanged scores before John Maher added two points from free’s for Martin’s to go ahead by two points.  (0-5 to 0-3)  Paul Maher extended that lead further for his side but Fenian’s Kieran Grehan worked hard to cancel out that score with a point of his own.  James Dowling shot a lovely point cutting through the middle of field to put Martin’s two up heading  towards half time.  However, John Broderick converted a 65 and free to leave the sides level at the interval.  (St. Martin’s 0-7, Fenian’s 0-7).  Within five minutes of the restart, St. Martin’s found themselves two points down as Danny Dermody and Conor Tobin stole the lead for the Fenian’s.  However, Martin’s dug deep when Paul Maher and his brother John claimed the lead back.  (0-10 to 0-9). John Broderick got Fenian’s final score in the 15th minute with a pointed free.  From then on, Martin’s were made to work hard to take back the lead again as John Maher converted three well deserved free’s for Martin’s to win by a three point margin.  The fact that there were no goals in the game was down to three fantastic saves from Colin McGrath and one from PJ Ryan who kept their goals intact.   With a 0-13 to 0-10 victory St. Martin’s will have their name in the hat for the draw for the quarter finals Monday night.

Team: Colin McGrath, James Maher, Ollie Walsh, Shane Cadigan, Bryan Byrne, Paddy Nolan, Mick Morrissey, Paddy Dowling, James Dowling (0-2), Thomas Breen (0-1), Eoin McGrath, Paul Maher (0-2), John Mulhall, John Maher (0-7), Shane Kinsella (0-1).

Subs: Canice Maher (used), Brian Mulhall (used), Joe Maher (used), Jason Maher, Luke Maher, Noel D’arcy, Aidan Murphy, Brian Cadigan, Paddy Brennan, Thomas Walsh, Donal Shore, Adrian Farrell, Eugene Maher, Jack Dowling, Shane Egan.

Team Management: Charlie Carter, Richard O’Shea, Aidan Lawlor, Ronan Ruane

Referee: Sean Cleere

12th October 2014