Martins are Shield Winners

St.Martins are Shied winners for 2011, played in Nowlan Park , O Loughlin Gaels last years senior Hurling Champions were the opposition. Captain James Dowling won the toss and played with a stiff wind in the opening half. A goal from Eoin McGrath coming up to the break was a defining score of the game  to leave Martins ahead 1-13 to 1-4.The Gaels had the use  of the gale in the and came well into the game but Martins kept the scoreboard ticking over to run out winners after a well contested second half, 1-22 to 2-15. Both sides must wait until after next weeks to find out their opponents in the quarter final.

Team Colin McGrath, Niall Moran, Patrick Nolan, Oliver Walsh, Alan Murphy, James Dowling 0-1,Ronan Maher, Damien Maher 0-1, Thomas Breen0-1, John Mulhall , Eoin McGrath 1-4,Joseph Maher 0-8, Canice Maher0-1 Paul Maher 0-4, Robert Shore 0-2.

Subs David Breen, Shane Cadogan (used), Shane Coonan (used),Pauric Haughney (used), Brendan Maher, Brian Byrne, Aiden Lalor, Brian Cadogan, Noel Darcy, Kieran Kelly, Luke Maher,Mick Mulhall,Brian Mulhall, Stephen Murphy,James Maher( ill), John Maher (inj.)

Manager Sean O Neill, Selectors John McGrath, Jonny Brennan, Brendan Morrissey.

Skills Coach Niall Moloney.

First Aid Dermot Lalor.

Ref. Ollie O Neill

11 Sept. 2011