Junior Championship Round 1: Replay 2

St. Martin’s and Ballyhale Shamrocks were finally separated after playing a second replay and one point separated the sides after 200+ minutes and it looked like heading to extra time again in the J.J Kavanagh and Sons Junior Hurling Championship.  Played under lights in Muckalee in front of a large crowd, after the first 15 minutes, it was all square with Luke Maher and Paul Maher exchanging scores with Brian Cody and Donnchadh Fitzpatrick of the Ballyhale side.  Shane Kinsella hit the jackpot when a 65  he took from the sideline dropped into the back of the net to give Martin’s a three point lead mid way through the half.  He then added a point shortly after to put 4 between the sides.  Brian Cody, Donnchadh Fitzpatrick and Liam Grant reduced the deficit to one for Ballyhale before Paul Maher caught the ball from a free taken by Jason Shore and blasted it to the back of the net once more.  Martin’s goalie Jason Shore added a pointed free to leave the half time score St. Martin’s 2-4, Ballyhale Shamrock’s 0-5.  The second half was a much closer affair once Brian Cody (Ballyhale) clawed back the lead back to 3 points before Donnchadh Fitzpatrick bagged a goal to level the sides. Shane Kinsella pointed a free before Fitzpatrick scored a second goal to take the lead for the South Kilkenny side with  four minutes left on the clock (2-9 to 2-7). Martin’s got their opponents lead back to one with a converted free before Mick Morrissey scored a great long range point to level the game, and it looked like extra time again.  With the game in injury time, and neither side wanting to concede, Luke Maher shot from 45m out to score the winner as St. Martin’s hung on for the win.  Final Score: St. Martin’s 2-10, Ballyhale Shamrock’s 2-9.

Team: Jason Shore (0-1), Brian Cadigan, Aidan Murphy, Paddy Dowling, Kieran Kelly, Mick Morrissey (0-1), Paddy Brennan, Noel D’arcy (0-1), Thomas Walsh, Shane Kinsella (1-3), Paul Maher (1-1), Luke Maher (0-3), Eugene Maher, Shane Coonan, Donal Shore.

Subs: Adrian Farrell (used), Joe Maher (used), Jack Dowling, Shane Egan, Conor Kinsella, Tommy Quirke, David Walsh.

Management: Anthony Maher, John Buggy, Eoin Maher.

Referee: Paddy Bowden.

26th September 2015