Final replay

The long awaited replay to the County Senior Football Final took place in Nowlan Park before a very enthusiastic attendance. Muckalee were first on the scoreboard with a pointed line ball from Colin McGrath in the first minute. Railyard soon levelled and it was point for point up to the end of normal time scorers for Muckalee were John Maher with two and Robert Shore with the assists from Bryan Byrne Mick Morrissey and Colin McGrath. In added time Railyard doubled their score hitting 1-1in two minutes putting them in a strong position at the break ,score 1-5 to 0-4. On the resumption Colin McGrath was first to point after a pass from Mick Morrissey, John Maher pointed following a foul on Brandon Sheehan. Next a second goal to Railyard increasing the lead to five points. Now it was up to Muckalee to respond to the challenge and to a man they did scoring 1-3 to regain the lead. Scorers were Colin McGrath with a penalty that gave the goalie no chance plus a pointed free , John Maher had 0-2  one free Brandon Sheehan had a big input having been taken down for the penalty and also for a free. Now with ten minutes remaining both sets of supporters were wishing their side to hold on or to make a comeback it was the defending champions that finished the stronger and win by two points. Both sides lost a player to a black card. While disappointed in the result  Muckalee Club would laud the achievement of the players in contesting seven finals in a row, and wish Railyard all the best in the Club Championship.

Team Stephen Murphy, Aidan Murphy, Ollie Walsh, Noel Darcy, James Maher, Paddy Nolan, Mick Morrissey, Joseph Maher, Tom Morrissey, John Maher 0-5,0-3f,Brandon Sheehan, Colin McGrath (Capt.) 1-3,1pen. 1lb,1f, Eoin McGrath, Robert Shore 0-1.

Subs  Martin Dowling, Shane Coonan, John Mulhall, all played their part.

Rest of panel John Coonan, Fionn Lawlor, Jason Shore, Eugene Maher, Conor Kinsella, Luke Maher, Paul Maher (inj,), Shane Dowling, Shane Egan, Damien Egan, Aidan Egan, Eoin Murphy, Jack Dowling, Brian Cahill, Paddy Brennan, James Kelly.

Managment Team Tom Cullen, Martin Dowd, Larry Maher.

Ref. Sean Cleere


Well done to Noel Darcy Ollie Walsh and Robert Shore on winning the British Junior Football Championship with Kilkenny earlier this year they lost out to Mayo in the All-Ireland Junior Semi-Final