Early exit

Muckalee and Railyard met in the first round of the Junior football Championship in Coon. On a cold wet and windy afternoon Muckalee had the first use of the elements and  were leading at half time 0-6 to 0-2. Jason Shore had three fine points  Eugene Maher, Damien Tynan and James Kelly were also on the scoreboard. Railyard made good use of the elements in the second half but were matched all the way by a determined home side  who regained the lead in the fifty second minute with a goal from Eoin Murphy who finished  well after a great effort from Brandon Sheehan brought a super save from the Railyard goalie. Two further points from Railyard put them the next round the winner coming in added time. Final score 1-6 to 1-7. A fair year overall for the mainly youthful side with some older lads in the mix who improved with every game. Conor Dowling made his debut at this level and did well.

Team Brian Cahill, Colm o Neill, Nicholas Purcell, Shane Egan, Brian Cadogan, Conor Kinsella, Eoin Murphy 1-0, James Kelly 0-1f, James Callinan, Fionn Lalor, Jason Shore 0-3, Eoin o Mahony, Damien Tynan 0-1, Brandon Sheehan, Eugene Maher 0-1.

Subs Conor Dowling(used), Damien Egan, Aidan Egan.

Selectors Tom Dooley ,Seamus Tynan, Richard Nolan,Martin Dowd

Ref. John Guinan